Well, that didn’t take long, did it?

2 Jun

So, I bought a cocktail dress this week.  At Walgreens.  Yup.  My friend Krista-girl and I went to take some pics at Walgreens, and it was one I hadn’t been to in a while, probably not for months.  And they had cocktail dresses.  Crazy!

First of all, I didn’t think I would find a cocktail dress at any point.  Second, to find one so early in the course of this is super crazy. And, truth be told, a little annoying. Like, it’d’ve been cool if I found one in, say, late September or maybe mid October.  Finding one near the end of all of this would give this blog kind of a dramatic arc.  The girl who buys cocktail dresses for no reason can’t buy cocktail dresses because she only shops at Walgreens.  Lo and behold!  There’s a cocktail dress!  After four months without!  Hurrah!

But no.  Less than two weeks in and I find this.  And granted, it could also be worn as a sundress with some flip flops, but it can be worn with heels. Seriously, I’m still having trouble wrapping my head around it. Cocktail dress.  At Walgreens.  Hmmmph.

And it’s strange because I’ve been to, maybe 7 or 8 Walgreens locations since I’ve started this, and that one is the only one where I saw dresses like this.  Maybe because it’s the store across the street from the mall they carry more clothes?  That seems counterintuitive.  I would think that the Walgreens furthest from the mall would have the most clothes. It’s really strange to me how different the merchandise can be between Walgreens stores that are quite close to each other.  When they get an order in for something like cocktail dresses, but they don’t have enough to go to every store, how is it decided which ones will get the dresses?  These are the things I wonder about.

In case you’re wondering about the shoe lying on the ground, there’s an explanation for that.  You see, I am very messy. Not dirty, per se, just messy.  I’m a clutterbug and I can’t keep things organized. I can organize ideas and words but not things. For instance, a few days ago I decided to clean. And I didn’t have aspirations to clean my whole house ‘til it was spotless or anything, I was more thinking “hey, if I cleaned for 15 minutes a day, I could stay on top of it!”  So I started cleaning. I got distracted about 25 seconds into the process.  Twenty five seconds. I am terrible at keeping house.  Granted, I was finally able to clean for that 15 minutes, but my first instinct was to do something else.  I’m a little jealous of friends whose houses are always tidy.  It’s a dumb thing to be jealous of because it’s not like I don’t know how to clean a house; I just don’t do it.  And that’s why there’s a shoe randomly on the floor in the picture.

2 Responses to “Well, that didn’t take long, did it?”

  1. Your mother June 3, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Sissy–
    You made me laugh and laugh and laugh. You are a mess–my mess fortunately, but a mess nonetheless. I loved this entry!!!!
    Love you bunches and bunches and bunches!
    Mom

  2. Liz June 3, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    HA! I saw those dresses too and almost bought one but the only one in my size was an ugly green. Looks great on you, let’s take you out and show you off!

Leave a Reply

