Gifts

2 Jul

I got the best birthday gift ever this week.  Now, my birthday is in February, but I regularly exchange birthday gifts with my friend Perrin sometime in the middle of the summer.  She lives across the country, and neither of us is ever organized enough to actually mail a gift, so we exchange gifts when she happens to be in town.  Anyway.  For my birthday she gave me a few pounds of hamburger meat, bread flour, a bag of onions, a bag of potatoes, some strawberries and some parmesean.  BEST! BIRTHDAY GIFT! EVER!!!!  Oh man.  I am set.  I’m so excited about them.  Thanks, Per.

And I of course had to buy her gift at Walgreens .  I totally intended to buy her birthday gift before this project began but…well… that didn’t happen.  I had several ideas for gifts, but many of them were problematic.  She flew out here, so getting her something like a giant bottle of some good shampoo was out.  Or anything else liquid.  It also would have to be easy to transport.  And I considered getting her razors or something, because good ones are expensive, and who wants to spend twenty bucks on shaving products?  But I didn’t know what her favorite brands were, so that seemed like a bad idea.  Because a gift of shaving products that aren’t even the kind you use is a dumb gift.  I ended up getting her some tea lights, and tea light holders.  The candle holders have some religious iconography on them that I thought she’d enjoy.  And you can’t buy religious candle holders at just any Walgreens.  I’m almost positive that at the Walgreens on Fremont street in Las Vegas there is not much in the way of Our Lady of Guadalupe candle holders.  And I also got her some Ghiradelli dark chocolate and some gum and stuff… so ya know… just random Walgreens stuff.  Not bad, I thought, for shopping at Walgreens.  But so not as awesome as what I got for my birthday!

2 Responses to “Gifts”

  1. Patricia July 2, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    I think that photo of you hugging the onions and the potatoes is the most awesome thing I have seen all week.

  2. Perrin July 2, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    I’m so glad you like my gift as much as I like yours! I love gifts that are made up of lots of little gifts and fun stuff. Thanks, Mandy!

Leave a Reply

