Girly Stuff

19 Jul

Today at Walgreens, I purchased something that I’ve wanted to purchase for about 10 years: Revlon’s Fire and Ice lipstick. Hurray!

Now why did it take me so long to buy a $7 lipstick?  A few reasons.  The main one is that I’m super forgetful and I never think about it when I’m out and about.  Or else I’m out and about, and I do think about it, but I’ve already purchased too many lipsticks/glosses/liners that month, and one more would be beyond silly.  Also, I don’t actually love the color on me; it’s pink-er than the reds I usually wear.  BUT! That’s because it’s a color that Revlon’s had around since 1952!  And how cool is that?

And even cooler is the ad campaign that they designed for Fire and Ice.  Best Ad Campaign EVER.

It’s a gorgeous photograph and everything, but I loved the quiz that accompanied the photo.  The quiz determined whether or not you were made for Fire and Ice.  Were you?  Let’s take the quiz!

  • Have you ever danced with your shoes off?
  • Did you ever wish on the new moon?
  • Do you blush when you find yourself flirting?
  • When a recipe calls for one dash of bitters, do you think it’s better with two?
  • Do you secretly hope the next man you meet will be a psychiatrist?
  • Do you sometimes feel that other women resent you?
  • Have you ever wanted to wear an ankle bracelet?
  • Do sables excite you, even on other women?
  • Do you love to look up at a man?
  • Do you face crowded parties with panic – then wind up having a wonderful time?
  • Does gypsy music make you sad?
  • Do you think any man really understands you?
  • Would you streak your hair platinum without consulting your husband?
  • If tourist flights were running, would you take a trip to Mars?
  • Do you close your eyes when you’re kissed?

And of course, an overwhelming majority of lipstick-wearing women are going to get an 8.  Because:

  • Seriously, when in the history of cocktails has a manhattan, an old-fashioned, or a champagne cocktail been made with only one dash of bitters?  Or when has one dash of anything been used ever? Dashes come in twos and threes, not singly.
  • I never understood the psychiatrist question, but on Mad Men the guy that wanted Carrie to pee on him* compared getting a psychiatrist to getting a pink stove – a popular mid-century trend.
  • And you don’t even have to actually own an ankle bracelet, you just have to, at some point in this life, wanted to wear one.
  • Sables are just exciting.  Period.
  • A woman’s hair color is an issue to be discussed with a hairstylist or possibly a best friend, not a husband.
  • A new moon is a thing you can wish on?  Didn’t know that, but I’ll start wishing on them starting August 9!  The more wishes the better, right?
  • Of course I have a man in my life that really understands me.  That’s what gay husbands are for.
  • Only the creepiest of people kiss with their eyes open.

So I was made for Fire and Ice!  Awesome!  And since the Revlon make up was Buy 1 Get 1 Half Off, I also got some very cool crème eye shadow.

And I bought another dress.

I know!  There’s something wrong with me, but it’s been so hot.  Too hot to wear jeans.  And I forgot to buy some lightweight, summery pants this spring.  I needed another casual dress.

That’s all for today.  Hopefully the next post will appeal to a wider audience.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

* To me, John Slattery will always be the politician that wanted Carrie to pee on him. It doesn’t matter that he was only on 2 episodes of Sex and the City, but dozens of episodes of Mad Men as well as working on other stuff, too.  He’s that one character in my head.  But I think he should play Australian Prime Minister James Scullin in a movie. Ya know, if they ever make a movie in which James Scullin is a character.

I didn’t have any copies of Vogue or Harper’s Bazaar from 1952 lying around the house, so I copied the quiz from Read My Lips: A Cultural History of Lipstick by Ragas and Kozlowski.  The copy of the ad though, I did just have lying around my house.  Hanging on the wall actually.  Yeah, I’m cool like that.

One Response to “Girly Stuff”

  1. pandelicious July 20, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    I thought Walgreen’s was like Rite-Aid and that they don’t sell anything other than what you might find in a cross between a severely raided Wal-Mart and 7-11???

    I think what you’re doing is really coool. And i thing that the Fire and Ice reminds me of Twilight- Eclipse. Which reminds me of teenage girls. Which reminds me of fads. Which reminds me i’m not into fads. Haha. But cute post though.

Leave a Reply

