Gooey Chocolate Deliciousness

30 Jul

I swear I’ve seen cocoa at Walgreens.  I’m out and I didn’t buy any extra before this started, but I went to my closest Walgreens and they didn’t have any. If I went all over town looking, I probably could’ve found some but I needed brownies sooner than that.  Needed.  And none of that mix from a box nonsense.  Brownies are SO easy to make it’s silly to use a mix.  Anyway, I improvised and made some not-quite-brownie gooey chocolate stuff from products purchased at Walgreens.  And it took like 6 minutes start to finish, and the result is about 50x better than what you get with a box mix.  And probably 1000x better than what you’d get with a microwave boxed brownie thing.  I haven’t ever tried one, but I’m assuming it’s like the normal box mix only much, much worse.

So here’s the recipe.

1 large (4.25 oz) Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate bar (You probably don’t actually need this much.  It was pretty intensely chocolate-y, even for me)

¼ cup butter

½ scant cup sugar

1 egg

½ scant cup flour

1 TBL (?) amaretto (I didn’t actually measure, so who knows?  Also I don’t have a huge amount of vanilla, so I was substituting.  ½ tsp vanilla would work here if you’re a normal person and not drastically limiting the groceries available to you)

I melted the butter and most of the chocolate on 80% for, like, 50 seconds.  Then I stirred it all up to get it smooth.  Added the sugar and stirred again.  Stirred in the egg, then the flour, then the amaretto. Then I poured it into a buttered little heart shaped container.  It’s the only microwave-friendly dish I have of its size.  A pyrex something that’s about 6×6 or so would pro’lly work.  I chopped up 3 little squares of the chocolate bar and threw them on top.  It didn’t seem to add anything, and I wouldn’t necessarily recommend doing that yourself.  Then I microwaved it at 100% for 2 minutes and 20 seconds.  Enough so that it was brownie-ish on top, but gooey on the bottom.  I find that if you microwave it completely, it tastes good but the texture leaves something to be desired.

TA DA!

3 Responses to “Gooey Chocolate Deliciousness”

  1. Perrin July 30, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Yummy!

  2. Patricia July 30, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    The Walgreen’s at Universe and Paradise has a strangely large amount of baking goods. (Learned this in the middle of a vegan cake/ regular cookie fiasco for work).

    Your brownies sound good…

    • mandymcadoo July 30, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

      And the one on McMahon and Unser has a lot too. Why is it that the westside stores have all the baking stuff?

Leave a Reply

