Saving $

13 Aug

I should be saving money with this project.  I’m spending less money than I usually do because I’m not acquiring stuff at my usual rate.  And I might occasionally  be spending slightly more on dishwasher detergent and stuff, but I’m spending less money driving around since I’m getting everything  I need at 1 store.  And there’s usually a Walgreens on my way to most places.  In Albuquerque new Walgreens seem to be popping up like weeds.  It’s like how Starbucks was a few years ago.  Anyway, I’m not saving that much money.   And I think it’s because of my job.  It’s so easy to work fewer shifts!  I tend to just automatically adjust my workload to my income requirements, but I know I should work beyond my needs and save more.  It’s just so easy to give those shifts away.   That’s the best thing and the worst thing about waiting tables.

People keep asking me if it’s getting hard to shop only at Walgreens. It’s not hard, so much as it’s gotten really boring.  Hopefully they start getting in some crazy, fun fall stuff or something. The school supplies just aren’t that exciting.  I like getting those composition books for, like, 50 cents but it’s not a particularly interesting blog entry.  It would almost be better if this project was getting really challenging. At least a difficult shopping situation would be somewhat entertaining.  An ennui inducing shopping experience — not so much.

3 Responses to “Saving $”

  1. Perrin August 14, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    I’m surprised that the school supplies are boring to you. Maybe to tide yourself over until Halloween time, you could get a supply list from your old high school and pretend shop for all the supplies you would need this year as a senior. Like, does Walgreens carry fancy calculators and wax pencils?

  2. Zanne August 16, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    OR….. YOU CAN COME”SHOP”THROUGH MY KIDS ROOMS WITH SOME PLAY MONEY AND TAKE EVERTHING AWAY. I AM POSITIVE IF I TELL TALAN AND NIONNIEN THAT IT WAS YOU WHO NEEDED SOMETHING THEY WOULD BE OK WITH IT 🙂 COME ON FRIEND….HELP ME HELP YOU,HELP ME!!!!

    • mandymcadoo August 16, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

      Yeah, I’m totally needing some toy guns and sticker mosaics 😉

Leave a Reply

