The Beautiful Dream

16 Aug

I had this fantastic dream last night that I went to a Walgreens that I hadn’t been to before, and it had a high-end deli section.  One section that was chock full of imported cheeses and dry-cured meats.  I was super excited.  I think I had this dream because my friend Cheryl told me (or actually told my parents to tell me) of an NPR story she heard about Walgreens and the city of Chicago coming up with a plan for the drug store to carry fresh produce and stuff.  It’s part of an effort to eliminate food deserts in inner-city areas.  And I think it’s funny that some part of my subconscious mind thinks that Chicago politicians would be worried about low-income families that don’t have a reliable source of gruyere and pecorino romano.

P.S.  Dear Walgreens, FYI there are a couple of Walgreens locations in Albuquerque neighborhoods that don’t have a  grocery store super close-by.  So, ya know, feel free to start carrying produce at one of those. Or, better yet, fly me to Chicago to shop at one of the perishable-food carrying stores there!  😀

xoxo

-m

Leave a Reply

