Halloweeeeeen!

18 Aug

The Halloween costumes aren’t in Walgreens stores yet.  There are still school supplies in the seasonal area.  BUT!  There are Halloween costumes at walgreens.com!  Hurray!  Normally I’m not the type to just spend sixty bucks on some generic piece of crap and call it good.  I usually like to put together my own costumes, but that would be more challenging than seems reasonable this year.  And besides, the only costume that I could come up with that I could put together myself from items at Walgreens was an Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta tourist.  Which would be kinda funny… but not very flattering. And there are several costumes at walgreens.com that are pretty cute.  Cuter than those skanky costumes I keep finding everywhere else online.  BTW girls, speaking of skanky Halloween costumes, a blue bra and panty set plus a bonnet and a staff does not make a Little Bo Peep costume. It’s just a girl in her undies wearing a hat and carrying a stick.

And some of you may say that it’s too early to start worrying about Halloween costumes.  Well I’m ordering online!  I’ll have to wait for it to come in, and then I might have to send it back!  Also, costumes are fun, so why not get started early?

So here are the front runners.

I’m thinking I like the blue retro Star Trek dress better than the red one.  And I’d do my hair in a flip with a headband and my bangs to one side.  Oooh and fake eyelashes!  Totally!  And blue eyeshadow and frosted pink lips, of course. But the red dress is actually cuter I think. But the hair and makeup options aren’t as fun. And they had one of those ugly jumpsuits from TNG like Lieutenant Yar wore, but gross, who’d wanna wear that?  And speaking of Natasha Yar, I think it’ll be the 24th century before women start sporting that haircut again.  Denise Crosby is lovely and all, I’m not saying anything about her, but that jumpsuit and haircut were a hot mess.

So, I don’t know what’s really up with the board game costumes, but I liked the Candy Land and Scrabble ones.  And it was funny, when I looked at the Scrabble-girl costume it suggested the Star Trek costume, which seemed apt because they are both nerd costumes.  But when I looked at the Star Trek costume it suggested the “Platinum Marilyn” costume.  Ummm… I guess they’re both retro?  Anyway with the Candy Land one, it’d be fun to accessorise with a candy necklace and bracelet.  Oh and a Ring Pop!

There was also a Twister costume, but you just know creepy guys would be walking up to any girl wearing that and saying “Left Hand Yellow!”  or whatever, all night.  There was also this Monopoly costume, but I’m on the fence about it. Like it’s cute but… weird.  And it needs a monocle.  I just don’t think it translates to a costume as well as the first two… but there’s something I like about it.  Oh, and p.s. they’re all right around the same price so that doesn’t matter much.

So what do y’all think?  Which one should I get?

6 Responses to “Halloweeeeeen!”

  1. liz August 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    I love the blue StarTrek one. You’d be cute in Candyland too…that’s pretty unique and fun.

  2. scribblingcandy August 22, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Oh, my gosh! I love your description of the skanky Little Bo Peep costume: it’s just a girl in her undies wearing a hat and carrying a stick. Awesome!

    I think I like the Candyland costume — and your ideas for accessories — best. I’m not a Star Trek fan, but I think the blue costume is cute.

  3. Herbert August 24, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    My vote is strongly in favor of the overzealous balloon fiesta tourist. Just putting that out there.

    • mandymcadoo August 24, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

      I like it as a costume, but I think I’m gonna go to Vegas for Halloween, and it wouldn’t make sense out there. But it’d be an hilarious costume for work for sure.

  4. Zanne August 28, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    GET THEM ALL!!!!!! you could always rent out the ones you don’t use and put the money toward your book fund

    • mandymcadoo August 28, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      I like this idea more than I’d like to admit.

Leave a Reply

