Clumsy

28 Aug

So, I think I must be subconsciously trying to make this project more difficult.  In the past couple of weeks I’ve broken like 3 glasses and two bowls.  I keep on knocking things off of tables or countertops, or dropping them while unloading the dishwasher. This is why I can’t have nice things. I’m a clumsy person generally, but this is silly.  And when I told people about the idea of shopping only at Walgreens because they have everything you need, a couple of people mentioned that they don’t have much stuff like pots and pans and tableware.  Which is true.  But I’m not some little, fresh-faced, 19 year-old who’s never lived out of her parent’s house and moving into an apartment for the very first time; I’m a grown woman. I have both the crappy, second-to-the-least expensive pot and pan set from Target that I bought 12 or so years ago, as well as some really nice copper-core stainless pots that I’ve acquired more recently (as a Christmas gift; I’m still not a grownup enough to invest that much money in cookware).  I own plenty of everyday plates and bowls, and I have a set of 6 fancy place settings, and I have more cute little dessert plates than could ever be reasonable.

The fact that I was starting this project with a whole houseful of stuff was not an accident. I live alone, I don’t have kids, I own lots of stuff and I don’t really need to be acquiring more and more, so it was a good time to do this.  But if I keep breaking crap, what am I supposed to do?  They don’t sell stemless wine glasses at Walgreens.  At least not that I’ve seen.  Maybe I need to look carefully on my next shopping venture.   I might end up using those pink, reusable, $1.50 a dozen plastic cups as my everyday glassware.

2 Responses to “Clumsy”

  1. Alan August 31, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Thanks.. I read this last night and broke a tall glass cup today.

  2. liz September 14, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    I was in Walgreens looking for a travel alarm clock, which I needed quite badly since the old one broke and in 10 hours at 5am I had better have one on the bedstand, but they didn’t have any! They only sold plug in alarm clocks which I won’t use because what if the electricity goes out? I couldn’t believe Walgreens didn’t carry an alarm clock, such an obvious necessity in a pinch.

Leave a Reply

