Random Thoughts, Facts, and a Question or Two.

7 Sep

I think Pier 1 is Walgreens’, like, arch-nemesis.  Only because Pier 1 doesn’t sell anything that you actually need (a fact pointed out to me by my manager when I worked at Pier 1). I’d be awful hungry if I was shopping only at Pier 1. My periods would be pretty awkward too.

I’m searching for hotels in Vegas, and have found myself checking the closest Walgreens locations to various hotels.  P.S. It says there’s a Walgreens at Flamingo and the Strip?  I don’t remember one there.

I went to the Walgreens on Fremont Street in Vegas last April.  It was full of mostly t-shirts and souvenir shot glasses, just like every other store on Fremont Street.  More details about that in November.

I love that Star Trek TNG is set in the 24th century, but Dr. Crusher has the same hairstyle as many (if not most) of the cheerleaders and goldenettes of my high school days.   Also, the hallways in the USS Enterprise have the same color carpeting as my parents’ house.  And, I’ve seen extras who I guess are supposed to be “off-duty” sporting polo shirts with pleat-front khakis.  If their society is so much more advanced, why do they wear pleat-front khakis? Or indeed, pleat-front pants of any sort?

I hope I never get lice.  I think those lice combs would be really hard to get through my curly hair.  I came across them while looking for deep conditioning treatments at the Beauty/ Hair Care/Treatments section of walgreens.com.   It’s mostly topical hair growth ointments and lice control products.  But there’s also dozens of shampoos and styling products that would seem to make more sense in the shampoo and styling products sections of the website.

I didn’t realize the word “lousy” originally meant “full of lice” until I read All Quiet on the Western Front.  Etymology is fun!

If I were to see somebody roasting green chile in a Walgreens parking lot, would that be close enough to be considered shopping at Walgreens?

Ok, just just now, as I was writing this, I was looking at this L’Oreal toner and the aforementioned and afore-pictured lice comb was shown as a “Related Product”.  What does toning brassiness out of bleached hair have to do with lice?  Do fake blondes have a higher likelihood of lice infestations? And if that’s true, are bargain-priced blonde hookers the ones skewing that statistic?  I dunno, it just seems like they would end up in places that were lice infested more frequently than most people. But really, how are these two products related at all?  Other than… you know, hair?  Also, why is this toner called “Brass Banisher”?  Anyone who lightens their hair knows what toner is. I myself was disappointed when I couldn’t find toner, and was lucky to stumble upon this Brass Banisher.  The toner I bought at Sally might not get me through to November.

2 Responses to “Random Thoughts, Facts, and a Question or Two.”

  1. dennisfinocchiaro September 8, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    I love how stream-of-consciousness this post is! Love it. And random fact…I’ve NEVER been in a Walgreens or a Walmart! Don’t judge me 😉

  2. Perrin September 10, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    If green chiles are being roasted in a Walgreens parking lot, you should be allowed to buy some. One can’t go through autumn in the Southwest without green chile!

    And, I too hope never to catch lice. I think I would get the pesticide/shampoo in my eyes.

Leave a Reply

