What I Don’t Eat at Walgreens

20 Sep

The past few times I mentioned this project to any male person, the response I’ve  received is “you must be eating a lot of frozen pizza.”  I’ve actually yet to have any frozen pizza since this began. The DiGirono frozen pizza costs six bucks. Domino’s has been running a $5.99 for a carryout order of a two-topping, medium pizza most of the summer.  Why would I eat frozen pizza if I can get a hot pizza that was baked in an oven that probably gets to 600 degrees or better?  Yeah, the frozen pizza is probably bigger for the same price, but I live alone.  I don’t want to eat 2-day old frozen pizza, so I don’t need a pizza that big.

I also haven’t eaten any frozen Stouffer’s or Marie Callender’s dinners either.  And I certainly haven’t had any of the P.F. Chang’s frozen dinners.  Why pay $8 bucks for a P.F. Chang’s frozen dinner when I can get a cooked dinner at Pei Wei for $7.50?  And it’s the same company.  Also no frozen burritos, shrimp bowls, Hot Pockets, Lean Pockets, White Castle Burgers, pot pies, or Lean Cuisine meals. Surprisingly, I also don’t really eat that much tuna.

I’ve been loving making sandwiches using an English muffin as the bread.  Like a breakfast sandwich with an egg and bacon and cheese.  It’s kinda like an Egg McMuffin but more delicious.  And I made this fantastic BLT the other day.  SO good.

I was pretty proud of myself for that sandwich.

6 Responses to “What I Don’t Eat at Walgreens”

  1. Patricia September 21, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    I’m currently addicted to English muffins. Except I am going to Satellite constantly for them. Bad idea. Which brand of English muffins does Walgreen’s carry?

    • mandymcadoo September 22, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      They carry Bay’s English muffins. They’re pretty ok.

  2. cala4lily September 21, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Funny you mention the BLT since I’ve been craving one the last couple of days! I don’t usually buy bacon since I so rarely eat it but I may just have to stop at Walgreen’s for the fixin’s… you inspired me 🙂

    • mandymcadoo September 22, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      Yeah, i didn’t actually get the tomatoes or lettuce from walgreens. The lettuce came from my landlord who was going out of town, and the tomatoes I grew. But the bacon at walgreens is good. Just some old school oscar mayer bacon.

  3. Catherine October 3, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Ha, I had no idea that Walgreens carries bacon! I’ve been obsessed with this mini bagels (100 calories each) that I got from the grocery store the other day. I’ve made mini sandwiches, mini pizzas, mini cream cheese and strawberry jam bagels … yum!! You’ve now inspired me to make bagel BLTs 🙂

Leave a Reply

