Tranny Trek

24 Sep

I got my Halloween dress in a few days ago.  I was worried that I’d have to modify it because it wouldn’t be an accurate replica of a Starfleet officer’s uniform.  But no worries there.  The blue uniform has the interlocking circles on the logo, and that’s correct.  It also has the gold detail on the sleeves, and even a slightly asymmetrical collar.  So all the Star Trek details are totally right on.

The fit, however, is problematic.  On one of the reviews on the costume manufacturer’s website, a woman who is a size 8 (like me) said that the Small was way too tight in the hips, but the Medium was way too big in the waist and she’d had to take it in. So I ordered the Medium.  And, sure enough, it fits in the hips, but it is HUGE in the waist.  So I measured, and the difference between the waist measurement and hip measurement was only 4 inches.  On the size charts on most women’s clothing, the waist is usually about 10 inches smaller than the hips.  Also, the upper sleeves are HUGE.  Giant armholes with huge sleeves.

So, Question: what kind of person has giant, ham hock arms and a waist that is only slightly smaller than their hips?

Answer: a male person, that’s what kind.

I think these Original Series Star Trek costumes are made for men.  And I don’t think they’re necessarily intended for drag queens. I think they’re perhaps intended for straight men who, as boys, thought Nurse Chapel was just the most fabulous thing they’d ever seen

Nurse Chapel

and now they like to put on a blue Star Trek dress in the privacy of their own home and prance around.

That’s my theory anyway.

Now I’m off to alter my dress that was designed for a man.

2 Responses to “Tranny Trek”

  1. Circe September 25, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    Your theory seems sound to me, good luck with the alterations

  2. Love Songs : October 30, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    empire waist clothing and baby doll dresses are the best womens clothing in my opnion ‘

Leave a Reply

