Kicking the Habit

4 Oct

The other day, I heard about that comedian guy who spent 5 days in the bathroom in order to kick his addiction to his blackberry and the internet*.  And it got me thinking about me and how part of this project is about kicking the shopping habit.  I think I’ve done it.  I no longer feel the need to buy more stuff.  My cluttered house is full of stuff.  I own plenty of clothes.  I own too many shoes. And after being on a buying-stuff diet for almost 5 months, I don’t feel the need to anymore. I feel really good about that.  I feel like I can totally be financially responsible and not a hyper-consumer.  Right now I really feel like I’d rather spend money on travel or spa treatments or whatever rather than stuff.  But is that any better than buying stuff?  Because then you don’t even have anything to show for it at the end of the day.

But really, I am for reals totally ok with only buying stuff I need.  I’m going to Las Vegas for Halloween, and I know if I weren’t just shopping at Walgreens I’d be spending all kinds of money on clothes and shoes to wear there.  I guess I did buy the Star Trek costume to wear there, but I would’ve bought a Halloween costume this year anyway.  I’m not buying a bunch more cocktail dresses that I may or may not even end up wearing, at least. Then again, last month was not the most lucrative at my job, so I probably would have been on a financial diet anyway.

What will happen in November though?  How hard will I fall off the wagon?  If I go on a used book and vintage clothing shopping spree, that’s not really the end of the world.  When I start shopping at the mall again will it be easy to not buy stuff?  I don’t know. Also, it’s weird to kick a habit only to make a plan to fall off the wagon.  Maybe I should try to only buy stuff I need after this is over.  Though, if a betting pool starts on when I’ll crack and buy some crap I don’t need, the smart money would be on me giving up after 12 hours  🙂

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

*  So that guy (Mark Malkoff) who is spending 5 days in the bathroom?   That project is messed up.  He and his wife only have one bathroom.  Why should she be so inconvenienced? I mean, I am counting on people to hook me up with a pumpkin pie or some fresh fruit or earrings every now and again, but it isn’t totally interfering with somebody else’s life.  And why the bathroom?  That’s silly.  If I was trying to kick an internet addiction, I’d go to maybe Ojo Caliente or somewhere for a week.

3 Responses to “Kicking the Habit”

  1. neftwink October 4, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    I wonder if you saved up instead of buying all that ‘stuff’ you could afford your own island someday.

    That’d be pretty cool. Then you wouldn’t have to wear ANY of your stuff – it’d be your island. You could run around in your birthday suit all day. Or you could wear your heels and your favorite hat.

    All your friends would be very impressed.

    Just a thought.

  2. Perrin October 4, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I plan my falls off of diets too. Right now I can’t wait to fail my diet and eat a whole bag of Halloween candy. On Friday. At 4:00.

Leave a Reply

