In the Ghetto

24 Oct

Earlier this week I went shopping at a few of the Walgreens that are in the crappier parts of town.  And there aren’t too many.  There aren’t any Walgreens in Albuquerque that I would say are in the  full-on ghetto, but there are a couple that are ghetto adjacent.  In fact, there was a Walgreens in an area that is now quite ghetto indeed, but they moved a few blocks west several years ago.  I’m guessing if I asked* they would say it was for some other reason, but I’m pretty sure it was just to be in a less ghetto neighborhood.  Because the one in the present ghetto was one of the newer, stand-alone stores.  And there are still a few old, crappy stores that are in strip malls which have not been replaced by new stores. Granted the newer one is huge, but I don’t think they moved because they needed more space.  Also it’s interesting that Walgreens are popping up like weeds in the Northeast Heights, but there’s only one Walgreens that could be described as being in the South Valley.

Anyway, I gotta say, the “transitional neighborhood” Walgreens carry the best stuff!  Like I found dried lavender for sale at one!  And they had saffron, chamomile and some other herbs too!  Crazy!  Dried herbs at Walgreens.  Who knew?  In the South Valley one they had all this crazy food.  They had coconut milk, mole, about a million (or half a dozen) different kinds of canned peppers, 4 different kinds of dried beans, hominy, and lots of other random stuff too.  I wish I’d shopped there earlier to make my food choices more interesting for the past few months.  The South Valley store wasn’t that nice though.  It actually reminded me a lot of the store that’s in the student ghetto.  It was kinda rundown, and like tiles were coming up, and the ugly fluorescent lights were all flickering or burnt out, the freezer made a lot of noise, and that sort of thing.  It was clean and everything, just rundown.  Meanwhile, I’m sure the store in Paradise Hills that’s caddy corner from the golf course was as bright and shiny and crisp as ever.  And ya know what?  I doubt that the stores in the South Valley and student ghettos generate less revenue than the stores in the nicer areas.  I really, really doubt it.  There are so few options for drug-store-type stuff near UNM.  The prices are great at the Student Health Center Pharmacy, but the selection and hours leave something to be desired.  I imagine that the Walgreens across the street from the dorms does alright.  And I’m guessing the one in the South Valley does pretty ok too.  But I don’t know for sure.  Just like I’m sure the poorly maintained roads in the crappy parts of town are used just a much as their well-maintained counterparts in the heights. I’m don’t believe that popularity has anything to do with how much upkeep is deemed to be necessary with these sorts of things.

By the way, ‘member when the Walgreens at Montgomery and Juan Tabo got all sad and worn-out looking,  how they opened a new, shiny one across the street?  Hm.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

*I did ask, but the response I got from the clerks was “uhhh, that was, like, years ago.”  And I didn’t want to ask them to get their manager so I could ask him or her about it.  Mostly because I felt it would’ve made me look like a crazy person.

One Response to “In the Ghetto”

  1. Mom October 25, 2010 at 5:49 am #

    How I love my little sociologist….:)

Leave a Reply

